Image Jeff Herzog is shown removing his ball from the #5 cup on Sunday morning as he aced the 162 yard hole sponsored by Sonoma Cycle.  In addition, to the hole in one prize, he also received $100 for being “Closest to the Pin” which was sponsored by Newmont Mining Corporation.  DiAn Putnam was closest to the pin on Sunday for the ladies and Marla Stafford was closest to the pin on Saturday.  Dean Vetter was the closest man to the pin on Saturday on #5 and each closest to the pin contestant was awarded $100 in pro shop merchandise.  Closest to the pin on hole #2 was sponsored by Hycroft Resources and Development and each winner received $200 dollars in the golf pro shop merchandise.  Saturdays men’s and women’s winners were Marla Stafford and Chris Dendary on hole #2 while Sunday’s winners were Kay Kludt and Chris Dendary. 

Barrick/Turquoise Ridge sponsored the longest drive contest.  Champoo Landt won a necklace and scarf for her drive and John Weber won a rifle for his long drive on Saturday.  Kay Kludt won a scarf and necklace for her long drive on Sunday and Chris Dendary won a pistol for his long drive on Sunday.

Recology sponsored a target drive competition and paid $300 in pro shop merchandise to the men’s and ladies winners each day.  Marla Stafford won the target drive on Saturday and Josh Shaver won the men’s portion.  Sunday, Heather Putnam won the target drive for the ladies and Frank Landt won the men’s side.

A & H Insurance sponsored a $10,000 cash prize for a hole in one on #2 and Goldcorp/Marigold Mining sponsored a $10,000 putting contest during the tournament.  Humboldt General Hospital was the title sponsor of the event this year.  Other major donors were Winners Inn Hotel Casino and Jim Dandy Productions.  This year’s tournament was very well attended with 51 teams participating on both days.  Proceeds of the tournament are used to sponsor youth events and activities in Humboldt County.

Gross winners in the first flight went to Dan Stewart and Brian Haslem with a score of 134, 2nd gross was Jake and John Webber, 3rd went to Jeff Carter and Jeff Patterson, 4th gross was won by Jeff Herzog and Mike Willey, and 5th gross was Cameron White and Justin Durant.   Net winners in the first flight were John Shorter and Jason Parola shooting a 121, 2nd net was won by Carl Rose and Brett Andreas, 3rd went to Ken and Kevin Mullins, 4th was Robert Velasquez and Mark Carlson, and 5th place was Chukuma Jones and Andrew Meyer.

In the second flight gross winners were Bill Barsanti and Dewey Guercio with a 155, 2nd place was Manny Esquivel and Mike Adams, 3rd went to Chris Aker and Matt Morgtan, there was a tie for 4th place between Frank and Chompoo Landt and the team of Scott Bullock and Micha Tolbert.  Net winners in the second flight were Paul and Michael Meckley with a score of 119, 2nd was Joe Leal and John Southall, 3rd place net was Karen and David Adams, and 4th net went to Dick Celio and Jim Jenista, 5th place was won by Timothy Trudell and Shane Havens.  American Ag Credit provided wine baskets for high gross in the first flight to Josh Stoker and Tyler Schoening, high net went to Marla Stafford and Steve Pierce.  In the second flight, high gross was won by Herb Ross and Raul Yott and high net went to Ken Graham and Rodd Stowell.